The RickRoll Was Not An Accident 

It shouldn’t be happening but it IS.

Seriously. Melania Trump’s speech was a trial balloon to see if we’ve transcended satire. We have. 

Her speech didn’t just contain a few paragraphs cribbed from Michelle Obama. It had a literal Rick Roll in it: It would be embarrassing but we’re past that point I guess. 

My guess at this point is that the speechwriter laid a few landmines. On purpose. And no one will care, because why would we. 

Author: S Peter Cordner

I’m an upper-middle class white male with an education and a raft of luck and an inability to keep too many thoughts to myself. I read RSS feeds like they keep me alive and need intellectual stimulation like mice need cheese. Politically I'm progressive conservative; inside America this is probably a confusing phrase, but most of Europe gets it. I'm also a practicing student of zen and consider myself a pantheist though it pretty much never comes up in discussion. :)

Leave a Reply

